Rent Pressure Zones (RPZs)

How your rent can be increased will depend upon whether you live in a designated rent pressure zone or not. If you live in a RPZ the rent can only be reviewed every 12 months and from 11th December 2021 increases cannot exceed the general rate of inflation called the Harmonised Index of the Consumer Price (HICP)- a table of these is available at or capped at 2%, whichever is lower. Outside of RPZ's the rent can be increased every 24 months but cannot be set higher than market rent. Below are details of the rent pressure zones based on local electoral areas (LEAs)

    • Carlow: Carlow LEA and the nearby surrounding areas of Ballinacarrig, Johnstown and Burton Hall
    • Cork: Cork City Council local authority area, Ballincollig-Carrigaline LEA, Bandon-Kinsale LEA, Cobh LEA, Fermoy LEA, Macroom, Mallow LEA, Midleton LEA.
    • Dublin: Dublin City, Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal County Council and South Dublin County Council
    • Kerry: Killarney LEA
    • Kildare: Kildare County Council, Athy LEA, Maynooth LEA
    • Kilkenny: Kilkenny,  Piltown LEA
    • Galway: Galway City Central LEA , Galway City West LEA , Galway City East LEA,  Athenry-Oranmore LEA, Gort-Kinvara LEA,
    • Laois: Graiguecullen-Portarlington LEA, Portlaoise LEA
    • Limerick: Limerick City East LEA, Limerick City North LEA and Limerick City West LEA
    • Louth: Ardee LEA, Drogheda LEA, Dundalk-Carlingford LEA, Dundalk-South LEA,
    • Meath: Ashbourne LEA, Kells LEA, Laytown-Bettystown LEA, Navan LEA, Ratoath LEA,  Trim LEA,
    • Offaly: Tullamore LEA
    • Sligo: Sligo-Strandhill LEA
    • Waterford:  Waterford City East LEA, Waterford City South LEA
    • Westmeath: Athlone LEA (Westmeath side), Mullingar LEA
    • Wexford: Gorey LEA, 
    • Wicklow: Arklow LEA, Baltinglass LEA, Bray LEA, Greystones LEA ,Wicklow LEA, 


New Rent Pressure Zones, as of July 2019, are as follows

Ardee, Arklow,  Athenry-Oranmore, Athlone (Westmeath side), Dundalk-Carlingford and Dundalk-South, Fermoy, Gorey, Gort-Kinvara, Graiguecullen-Portarlington, Kells,  Kilkenny, Limerick City North and west, Midleton, Portlaoise, Trim, Waterford City East and Waterford City South

New Rent Pressure Zones, as of September 2019, are as follows

  • Macroom - this covers areas such as Millstreet, Ballyvourney, Coachford, Cloughduv, Aherla, Lissarda, Crookstown, Canovee, Dripsey, Berrings, Clondrohid, Kilmurry, Ovens, Donoughmore, Farnanes, Inchigeelagh, Crossbarry 
  • Carlow town and the nearby surrounding areas of Ballinacarrig, Johnstown and Burton Hall

 New Rent Pressure Zones, as of 18th December 2019, are as follows

  • Cork: Cobh
  • Wicklow: Baltinglass
  • Kilkenny: Piltown
  • Sligo: Sligo-Strandhill


New Rent Pressure Zones, as of April 22nd 2020, are as follows

  • Cork: Mallow
  • Kerry: Killarney
  • Kildare: Athy
  • Westmeath: Tullamore and Mullingar.


New Rent Pressure Zones, as of Sept. 29th 2020, are as follows

  • Kildare County Council



The RPZ rules will not apply where:

  • The property has not been let in the previous two years or 
  • The property is a protected structure and there was no tenancy in the precending 12 months or
  • Where there has been a substantial change in the nature of the property - there are stritct criteria to meet this exemption please click here for more and contact Threshold for further advice.


Moving into a rented property

The RPZ rules also apply if you are moving into a new tenancy located within a rent pressure zone. In the setting of the initial rent, it cannot be above market rent and the landlord is required to give you written information outlining the amount of rent and date it was last set under a tenancy for the dwelling and a statement as to how the rent set under the tenancy of the dwelling has been calculated having regard to the rent pressure zone formula. If you have not been given this, you can use the letter attached to request this and if not provided you can refer a dispute to the Residential Tenancies Board (RTB).

Breaches of the RPZ  rules

In addition to referring a dispute to the RTB, you can also report breaches of the RPZ rules to the Investigation and Sanctions Unit of the RTB. Click here for more

Further Information

To find out how much your rent can be increased go to the RTB rent calculator and the Harmonised Index of the Consumer Price (HICP) table

To speak to an advisor call our FreePhone:

1800 454 454

Click here to email your query, or view advice centre locations →